Cybersecurity Caucus

Cybersecurity Caucus Twitter Banner


Recognizing that cybersecurity is one of the most pressing challenges confronting the continued economic prosperity and national security of the United States, in June 2016, Senator Warner joined Senator Cory Gardner in establishing the Senate Cybersecurity Caucus. 

The Senate Cybersecurity Caucus is a platform for the Senate to engage on critical cybersecurity issues, and is an educational resource for the systemic cybersecurity issues facing the United States and our allies.  

fixed stats image


Senator Mark Warner (D-VA) – Co-Chair


Senator Cory Gardner (R-CO) – Co-Chair


Senator Maria Cantwell (D-WA)


Senator Thad Cochran (R-MS)


Senator Angus King (I-ME)


Senator Gary Peters (D-MI)


Senator Chris Coons (D-DE)


Senator Johnny Isakson (R-GA)


Senator Michael Bennett (D-CO)


Senator Mike Rounds (R-SD)


Senator John Thune (R-SD)


Senator John Thune (R-SD)


Senator Ed Markey (D-MA)


Senator Tom Carper (D-DE)


Senator Claire McCaskill (D-MO)


Senator David Perdue (R-GA)


Senator John Boozman (R-AR)


Senator Tom Cotton (R-AR)





What is the specific focus of the caucus?
  • The caucus seeks to address the full spectrum of issues related to cybersecurity in a bipartisan, holistic manner.  The intent is not to direct the conversation in service of a specific agenda.  
The Caucus will examine such questions as: 
  • What responses are appropriate for cyber-attacks by state and non-state actors?·How do we effectively organize the federal government and what types of authorities do our federal agencies need to support cybersecurity, especially for critical infrastructure?·How do we effectively deter cyber criminals?·How do we create policies that enable better cooperation between the federal government and our financial, retail and other sectors to combat cybercrime and cyber-attacks?·What can we do to make consumers smarter purchasers of secure technologies?·How do we incentivize technology and digital product creators to build security into their products?·How can we ensure the federal government can efficiently and effectively leverage new technology and procedures being developed in the private sector?·How can the federal government best recruit and retain top cyber talent? 

How will the caucus work with the House of Representatives Cybersecurity Caucus led by Congressman Jim Langevin (RI-D) and Congressman Mike McCaul (R-TX)?
  • This new cybersecurity caucus will be open only to Senators and their staff and will focus on Senate efforts to address cyber issues.  However, it will seek to coordinate and co-sponsor events and approaches, where possible, with its counterpart caucus on the House side.   

How frequently will the Caucus meet?  What types of events will be held?
  • The caucus will seek to hold events for Senate Staffers and Members on a regular basis multiple times a year.  Events at the staffer level should occur more frequently.

  • Events will include but not be limited to briefings, workshops, demonstrations, and tours of local cyber facilities.

Will Caucus events be open to the public?
  • Although most Caucus events will be private or invite-only in nature, the Caucus co-chairs will explore opportunities to include the general public.  Please refer back to this web page for further information on such events.

Additional Resources/Links:

White House Resources

DoD Resources

DHS Resources

FBI Resources

Legislative Branch

Commonwealth of Virginia Cyber Resources