Latest News

April 3 (BNA) -- Sen. Mark Warner (D-Va.) was named chairman of the Senate Finance Committee's Subcommittee on Fiscal Responsibility and Economic Growth following a markup to renew expired tax breaks and credits.

Warner, who recently joined the committee when a seat came open, has championed deficit and debt reduction since 2011 as part of the Senate's Gang of Six group of fiscal negotiators.

In addition, Warner was appointed to the trade and customs subcommittee and the taxation and IRS oversight subcommittee April 3.

New chairmen were also named for both of those panels, with Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.) now heading the trade subcommittee and Sen. Robert Casey (D-Pa.) taking over the taxation subcommittee. Among other shuffling, Sen. Michael Bennet (D-Colo.) was named chairman of the Finance energy subcommittee.

The changes resulted from the departure of the full committee's former chairman, Sen. Max Baucus (D-Mont.), and the elevation of Sen. Ron Wyden (D-Ore.) as the new chairman. None of the subcommittees' Republican ranking members made switches.